Set sail for ...

New Zealand

An opportunity to immerse yourself in the variety of New Zealand’s stunning unspoilt landscapes and enjoy a relaxed and active lifestyle.

Our La Surprise New zealand stopover takes you exploring some of the gems of the north island: the coromandel peninsula, the northern tip of the north island and its many islands, including the great barrier island.

The cruising routes in New Zealand are tailored to your wishes and to the amount of time available.

options

In 1 week and 160  nautical miles: an Auckland – Waiheke Island – Great Barrier Island – Auckland loop. 

In 10 days and 240 nm:  Auckland – Waiheke island – Coromandel peninsula – Auckland
i.e. 280 nm: with an additional tour of Great Barrier Island

In at least 2 weeks and 380 nm: Auckland – Waiheke island – Coromandel Peninsula – Great Barrier Island – Northland as far as the Karikari Peninsula.
(Return Karikari Peninsula -> Auckland on option, i.e. a sail of 170 nm.)

New Zealand

Start

Auckland

Finish

Auckland or Karikari Peninsula

Date

de Novembre 2021 à Mars 2022

Type of cruise

Coastal cruise, to 50 nm

ROUTE

Flights

International flights to Auckland.
The climate in New Zealand is generally temperate to oceanic in most of the country. The north of the country is in the humid subtropics. With the austral summer from December to March, the temperatures vary from 15 to 25°C and the sea is around 22°C. The east of the Coromandel Peninsula and the Bay of Plenty are the sunniest regions in the country.

Weather

Map of stopovers

Stunning Stopovers

Whaiheke island 

is just a few miles from Auckland and it is the green lung of this vibrant city. With a golf course, vineyards and tastings, a brasserie and high wire adventure course it promises to be an enjoyable stopover. The moorings all around the island offer shelter and quiet no matter the wind’s direction.

The Coromandel Peninsula

85-km long, the Coromandel Peninsula is covered with bays and white-sand beaches, often unspoilt, edged by lush forests. Indented islands such as Mercury Island have many quiet and often deserted anchorages. Some people rank New Chum beach as one of the top 10 most beautiful unspoilt beaches in the world. The region has more to offer though than just relaxing on the sand, with curious geological arches sculpted by the wind and sea at Cathedral Cove and tunnels of limestone rock. The best way to explore the area is by stand-up paddle or kayak, allowing you to weave between the rocks and paddle up estuaries and along the beach, or to Whenuakura, also known as Donut Island, and through a natural tunnel to its stunning inland lagoon.

Surfers will love the various spots, some of which are world famous, such as Whangamata Beach.

This region of New Zealand is known for its geothermal activity and you can enjoy all its healthy effects in the natural hot springs and spas or in the more family oriented Hot Water Springs, on the beach, where you dig your own sand pool, which fills with gushing water at a temperature of up to 65°C!

The rugged mountains of the Coromandel Peninsula have wonderful hiking paths, most of which can be accessed from the mooring sites, and, in particular, the well-known Coromandel Coastal Walkway, which also offers a mountain bike trail for the active among you. This moderately easy trail offers every type of landscape on the Peninsula, high ridge trails overlooking the coast, dense forests, green pastures, beaches and panoramic views of the surrounding islands. If you wish to spend the whole day in the forests and on the inland waterways, culminating in the ascent of stunning smooth rocks, offering a scenic view, the Kauaeranga Kauri Trail and Pinnacles Walk is the one for you.

Whitianga and the Bay of Mercury, where James Cook anchored and, before him, Kupe, the 1st Polynesian explorer, are good places to set out from, for various activities such as visiting the Marine Museum, the Polynesian archaeological site, flying over the Peninsula in a helicopter, hiking as far as the magnificent Lonely Beach, far from the crowds.

Great Barrier Island

Nature reigns supreme here with 60% of the island a nature reserve, producing its own electricity by means of solar panels. The stopover offers sand dunes sculpted by the wind, a natural sheltered harbour, long sandy beaches and secluded bays.

Port Fitzroy, sheltered by the deeply indented coast and the facing Kaikoura Island opposite, features a maze of small inlets in a natural landscape. On one of them, the Glenfern Sanctuary botanical trail is ideal for bird-watching, but there are many other hiking trails lasting a few hours or a few days.

A secret spot? South of Kaitoke Beach, the longest beach of the island; the rocks form a secluded Mermaid Pool. At low tide, you can reach the small island opposite on foot across a spit of sand.

Great Barrier Island has one of the most abundant fish stocks of New Zealand. Big game fishing (catch and release) and diving are recommended.

Great Barrier Island is the first island to be listed as an International Dark Sky Sanctuary, due to an absence of light pollution, making it a dream destination for stargazing, with a sky 10 times brighter than on the main island. A stargazing night can be organized with a guide, using a professional telescope.

The Poor Knights

This group of inhabited islands 90 nautical miles from Auckland is truly magnificent for diving. Commandant Cousteau was well aware of the beauty of its underwater caves, arches and tunnels, considering the Poor Knights to be one of the 10 best diving sites in the world.

Bay of Islands

This gulf, dotted with islands and estuaries, played an important role New Zealand’s history. This is the place where James Cook landed with the first Europeans to settle in 1769. You can still see the oldest buildings in the country here, such as Russel’s church. From the 18th to the 19th century, no fewer than 500 French, Australian and American whalers stopped over in the region of Russel, which was the 1st capital of New Zealand. The Waitangi treaty was also signed in this bay, and, to this day, it still governs the status of New Zealand and the Māori people in relation to the British crown.

This stopover provides a pleasant mix of picturesque villages with good restaurants and unspoilt coastal islands you can explore with the boat’s tender. You will often see dolphins and seals, and, with a little luck, whales and killer whales.

For people keen on geopolitics, the Rainbow Warrior wreck awaits you in Matauri Bay.

Whangaroa

Fringed with huge smooth rocks and a dense forest that projects into the sea, this maritime labyrinth is a chance to explore a Māori archaeological site and to take advantage of the small fishermen’s village and the amazing Kauri Cliff Golf Club, one of the top 10 non-American golf courses in the world and certainly the most beautiful in New Zealand. A short distance from there, the Taupo Bay surfing spot provides conditions for all levels.

Karikari Peninsula

and its long deserted white-sand beaches are ideal for kite surfing in the northerly wind. At anchor in Doubtless Bay, Cooper beach edges a glassy sea and is shaded by gnarled trees– perfect for lazing in the sun with the family. A stone’s throw from here is the charming fishermen’s village of Mangonui, reputed for its fish market, which has the best locally-source fish and chips in the world!

30 minutes away by car (optional) is the famous Ninety Mile Beach, a stunning 88 km beach on the windward coast. It is part of the New Zealand road network, and you often see cars and even buses there. In the past, it was also used as a runway for postal aircraft from Australia. At the far north of this very long beach Cape Reinga reaches into the turbulent waters of the Tasmanian Sea to the west where it meets the Pacific Ocean to the east. Why not try sand surfing on the vast sandy dunes nearby and stay dry?

Cruise idea: Coromandel Peninsula

Day 1

Welcome aboard La Surprise! The catamaran is ready and waiting in the marina, right in the centre of the City of Sails, Auckland! It is surrounded by the Harbour Bridge, Sky Tower and the CBD; a typical panorama of the city.

Day 2

Sailing to the Coromandel Peninsula and then a walking on shore, deep in the lush valleys of the Coromandel Forest Park.

Day 3

Exploring the unspoilt Great Mercury Island, with the dilemma of the day being which beach to choose from the fifteen beaches that stretch along its coast! The crystal clear water is perfect for bathing and snorkelling.

Day 4

Setting sail for the legendary limestone arch and white-sand beach of Cathedral Cove! The surrounding coastal area lends itself to exploration in a RIB, kayak or SUP. With a little luck, you will get to see some dolphins.

Day 5

Sailing along the east coast, stopping off at one of the many unspoilt bays to enjoy a day-long trek to the Pinnacles for a scenic view of the whole peninsula.

Day 6

Casting off for Whenuakura, also called Donut Island. Stand-up paddling or kayaking along the beach and then through a natural tunnel leading to the island’s stunning inland lagoon – a magical experience!

Day 7

One of the things you can enjoy on this day is the popular Coromandel Coastal Walkway. This moderately easy trail gives you a glimpse of all the Peninsula’s landscapes, dense forests, green pastures, beaches and scenic views of the surrounding islands. If you are energetic, you can follow the trail on a mountain bike.

A Little History…

Aotearoa, “land of the long white cloud” in Maori, is one of the last islands discovered by men, during the settlements in the Pacific. The Māoris came from the east of Polynesia, between 1200 and 1300 on wakas, large canoes designed for exploring, and founded the various tribes on the North and South Islands. The first tales of European explorers date back to 1642, during a short stopover made by the Dutch vessels of Abel Tasman, Heemskerck and Zeehaen. Then New Zealand is forgotten until 1769 and James Cook’s great voyage of exploration on Endeavour. The British Crown tasked him with mapping the coasts and describing the lands in detail, with a view to eventually colonising them. Later, Cook called in at several ports, when he explored Australia. Dutch mapmakers named it Nova Zeelandia or “new sea land”, after the Dutch province of Zeeland.

New Zealand became independent in 1907, first becoming a Dominion, then gaining full independence in 1947. It is now an independent parliamentary democracy governed by the Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern, since 2017. The population of nearly 5 million “Kiwis” is mainly of European descent, with the indigenous Māori being the largest minority, followed by Asians and Polynesians from the rest of the Pacific. The official languages are, of course, English, Māori and also sign language. Wellington, the capital, is located to the south of the North Island, but Auckland, in the north, has a larger population and is the country’s economic hub.

… A little culture!

The late 20th century saw a strong resurgence of Māori art, dance and traditional songs, freed from the restrictions imposed by the missionaries. Wood engravings, weaves, tattoos, not to mention the kapa haka, honoured by the All Blacks rugby team, inspire a symbolically rich culture that has continued through the centuries.   

Sports play an important role in the New Zealand’s culture, particularly rugby union, but it is not the only one. New Zealand is one of the world leaders in sailing. The Emirates Team New Zealand won the America’s Cup in 1995, 2000 and 2017.

America’s Cup

In December 2020, February and March 2021, Auckland, known as the City of Sails, will host the legendary race, and be the home of its famous cup, the oldest sports trophy in the world.

New Zealand, the Defender, winner of the last America’s Cup, in Bermuda, in 2017, will defend the cup against the winner of the Prada Cup, raced by the American Stars and Stripes and American Magic, Italian Luna Rossa and English Ineos teams.

The nearly 23-metre long AC 75 monohulls with canting T-wing hydrofoils manoeuvred by 11 crew members per boat promise a breathtaking show.

Experience the spectacular speeds and thrills of these “flying” boats on board La Surprise!

Dates of the events in Auckland:

  • America’s Cup world series (final event): 17 – 20 December 2020
  • Prada Cup: 15 January – 22 February 2021
  • America’s Cup: 6 – 21 March 2021

On met le cap sur ...

Nouvelle Zélande

Cette destination est une invitation à s’immerger dans une nature puissante et diversifiée et un mode de vie détendu et sportif !

L’escale néozélandais de La Surprise vous emmène à la découverte des joyaux de l’île du Nord : la Péninsule de Coromandel, la pointe septentrionale de l’île du Nord et ses nombreuses îles, dont Great Barrier island.

Les itinéraires de croisières en Nouvelle-Zélande seront construits à la carte suivant vos envies et le temps disponible.

Les options

En 7 jours et 160 miles nautiques : une boucle Auckland – Waiheke island – Great Barrier Island – Auckland. 

En 10 jours et 240 nm :  Auckland – Waiheke island – Péninsule de Coromandel – Auckland
ou 280 mn : avec en plus le tour de Great Barrier Island

En 2 semaines minimum et 380 nm : Auckland – Waiheke island – Péninsule de Coromandel – Great Barrier island – Northland jusqu’à Karikari Peninsula.
(Retour Karikari Peninsula -> Auckland en option, navigation de 170 nm.)

Nouvelle-Zélande

Départ

Auckland

Arrivée

Auckland ou Karikari Peninsula

Date

de Novembre 2021 à Mars 2022

Type de croisière

Croisière côtière, jusqu’à 50nm

carnet de route

Vols

vols internationaux jusqu’à Auckland.
Le climat de la Nouvelle-Zélande est globalement tempéré à océanique sur la majeure partie du pays. Le Nord du pays est lui subtropical humide. Avec l’été Austral, de Décembre à Mars les températures varient de 15 à 25°C et la mer est à 22°C. L’Est de la Péninsule de Coromandel et la Bay of Plenty sont les régions des plus ensoleillées du pays.

Météo

Carte des escales

Toutes les plus belles escales…

Whaiheke island 

A quelques miles seulement d’Auckland Whaiheke est le poumon vert de cette ville trépidante. Terrain de golf, vignobles et dégustations, brasserie et parcours en tyrolienne promettent une escapade des plus agréables. Les mouillages tout autour de l’île permettent de trouver le calme par tous secteurs de vent.

La Péninsule de Coromandel

Longue de 85km, la Péninsule de Coromandel regorge de baies et de plages de sable blanc souvent sauvages, frangées de forêts luxuriantes. Les îles découpées comme Mercury Island offrent une multitude de mouillages calmes et souvent déserts. Pour certains, New Chum beach est classée dans le top 10 des plus belles plages sauvages du monde… Mais l’interêt de cette région ne se résume pas uniquement au farniente sur le sable, les curiosités géologiques sculptées par la mer et le vent forment des arches comme à Cathedral Cove ou des tunnels de roche calcaire. Les explorations en stand-up-paddle et kayak sont le meilleur moyen de glisser entre les rochers, remonter les estuaires et longer la plage ou, via un tunnel naturel, d’atteindre la surprenante piscine intérieure de Whenuakura, appelée aussi Donut island.

Les surfeurs seront comblés par les différents spots dont certains de renommée mondiale comme Whangamata Beach.

L’activité géothermique est particulièrement fréquente dans cette région de la Nouvelle-Zélande et vous pourrez en goûter tous les bienfaits pour un moment détente dans les sources d’eau chaude naturelle de spas ou dans une ambiance plus familiale aux Hot water springs, directement sur la plage où chacun creuse son bassin en sable rempli par une eau jaillissant jusqu’à 65°C !

Le relief tourmenté de la Péninsule de Coromandel offre de beaux sentiers de randonnées accessibles depuis la majeure partie des mouillages, notamment le fameux Coromandel Coastal walkway pouvant être associé pour les plus sportifs à une variante en VTT. Ce sentier sans difficulté rassemble tous les paysages de la Péninsule, sentiers en balcon surplombant le littoral, forêts denses, pâturages verdoyants, plages… et panoramas sur les îles alentour. Pour une journée entière dans les forêts et rivières de l’intérieur couronnée par l’ascension de spectaculaires rochers polis depuis lesquels la vue porte à 360°, optez pour le Kauaeranga Kauri Trail et Pinnacles Walk.

Whitianga et la Baie de Mercury, dans laquelle ancra James Cook et avant lui, Kupe, le 1er explorateur polynésien, sont un bon point de départ pour différentes activités : musée de la marine, site archéologique polynésien, tour en hélicoptère au dessus de la Péninsule, randonnée jusqu’à la superbe Lonely beach, loin des foules.

Great Barrier island

La nature est reine sur cette île classée à 60% réserve naturelle et qui produit sa propre électricité par panneaux solaires. Dunes de sable sculptées par les vents, port naturel abrité, longues plages de sable et baies isolées sont au menu de l’escale.

Port Fitzroy, abrité par une côte découpée et l’île de Kaikoura en face, offre un dédale de petites baies dans un écrin de nature. Dans l’une d’elles, le Glenfern Sanctuary propose un sentier botanique propice à l’observation d’oiseaux et une multitude de sentiers de randonnées de quelques heures à quelques jours.

Un spot secret ? Au sud de Kaitoke Beach, la plus longue plage de l’île, les rochers forment une discrète « piscine pour sirène » ou Mermaid pool. A marée basse une langue de sable rejoint la petite île en face et permet d’y accéder à pieds secs.

Great Barrier island est l’une des régions les plus poissonneuses de la Nouvelle Zélande, les activités de pêche au gros (catch and release) et de plongée sont recommandées.

Great Barrier island est la première île classée International Dark Sky sanctuary grâce notamment à l’absence de pollution lumineuse, une destination de rêve pour les chasseurs d’étoiles pour lesquels le ciel est jusqu’à 10 fois plus brillant que sur l’île principale. Possibilité d’organiser une soirée d’observation guidée avec télescope professionnel.

Les Poor Knights

  Ce groupe d’îles inhabitées situé à 90 miles nautiques d’Auckland, est un joyau pour la plongée. La beauté de ses grottes, arches et tunnels sous-marins n’a pas échappé au commandant Cousteau qui classa les Poor Knights parmi les 10 meilleurs sites de plongée au monde.

Bay of Islands

Ce golfe moucheté d’îles et de ria est d’une grande importance dans l’histoire de la Nouvelle-Zélande. C’est effectivement ici que les 1ers européens débarqués par James Cook s’installèrent en 1769. Les plus anciens bâtiments du pays sont encore visibles, comme l’église de Russel. Entre le 18ème et le 19ème siècle pas moins de 500 baleiniers français, australiens ou américains firent escale ou s’établirent dans la région de Russel qui fut la 1ère capitale de Nouvelle-Zélande. C’est aussi dans cette baie, à Waitangi, que fut signé en 1840 le traité éponyme qui régit encore aujourd’hui le statut de la Nouvelle-Zélande et des peuples Māori vis-à-vis de la couronne d’Angleterre.

Cette escale offre une sympathique alliance de villages pittoresques dotés de bonnes tables et d’îles et littoraux sauvages à explorer en zodiac. Il n’est pas rare d’observer des dauphins et des phoques et avec de la chance des baleines et des orques.

Pour les amateurs de géopolitique, l’épave du Rainbow Warrior vous attend à Matauri bay.

Whangaroa

Frangé d’immenses rochers polis et d’une dense forêt qui se jette dans la mer, ce labyrinthe maritime est l’occasion de découvrir un site archéologique Māori et de profiter du petit village de pêcheurs ou du l’extraordinaire Kauri Cliff Golf Club, l’un des 10 meilleurs parcours de golf non américains au monde et certainement le plus beau de la Nouvelle Zélande. Non loin, le spot de surf de Taupo bay réserve de bonnes sessions pour tous niveaux.

Karikari Peninsula

Avec ses longues plages de sable blanc désertes la péninsule de Karikari est propice au kite-surf par vent de nord. A l’ancre à Doubtless bay, la plage de Cooper beach bordée d’une mer d’huile et ombragée d’arbres tortueux est parfaite pour le farniente en famille. A deux pas, le charment village de pêcheurs de Mangonui est réputé pour son marché aux poissons et, de source locale, propose le meilleur fish and chips au monde !

La célèbre Ninety Mile beach est à 30min de voiture (en option), cette étonnante plage de 90km sur la côte au vent fait réellement partie du réseau routier néo-zélandais, il n’est pas rare d’y croiser des voitures et même des bus. Par le passé elle a aussi servi de piste d’atterrissage aux avions de transport de courrier en provenance d’Australie. Tout au Nord de cette immense plage le Cap Reinga plonge dans les eaux tumultueuses de la Mer de Tasman à l’Ouest et de l’Océan Pacifique à l’Est. Les grandes dunes de sable voisines sont l’occasion de s’essayer au surf sur sable sans se mouiller.

Idée de croisière : la Péninsule de Coromandel

Jour 1

Bienvenue à bord de la Surprise ! Le catamaran vous attend en marina, au plein coeur de la cité des voiles, Auckland ! Autour du bateau, le Harbour Bridge, la Sky Tower et le CBD composent un panorama typique de la ville.

Jour 2

Navigation jusqu’à la Péninsule de Coromandel puis balade à terre, en immersion dans les vallées luxuriantes du Coromandel Forest Park.

Jour 3

Découverte de la sauvage Great Mercury Island, le dilemme du jour, choisir parmi la quinzaine de plages qui s’étirent le long des côtes ! Les eaux cristallines invitent à la baignade et au snorkeling.

Jour 4

Cap sur la mythique arche de calcaire et sa plage de sable blanc, Cathedral Cove ! En annexe, kayak ou SUP, toute la côte alentour se prête à l’exploration. Avec un peu de chance les dauphins seront au rendez-vous.

Jour 5

Nous longeons la côte Est à la voile, arrêt dans l’une des nombreuses baies sauvages ou trek d’une journée jusqu’au Pinnacles pour une vue à 360° sur toute la Péninsule.

Jour 6

Cap sur Whenuakura, appelée aussi Donut island. En stand-up-paddle ou en kayak longez la plage puis, via un tunnel naturel, entrez dans la surprenante piscine intérieure de cette petite île un brin magique.

Jour 7

Parmi les nombreuses possibilités du jour, le fameux Coromandel Coastal walkway vous attend : ce sentier sans difficulté rassemble tous les paysages de la Péninsule, forêts denses, pâturages verdoyants, plages… et panoramas sur les îles alentour. Pour les plus sportifs, faites le en VTT.

Un peu d’histoire…

Aotearoa, en langue maori « le grand nuage blanc » est l’une des dernières îles découvertes par l’homme lors du peuplement du Pacifique. Les Māoris arrivèrent de l’Est de la Polynésie entre 1200 et 1300 à bord de waka, grands canoës d’exploration et y fondèrent différentes tribus sur l’île du nord et l’île du sud. Les premiers récits de navigateurs européens datent, eux, de 1642, au cours d’une brève escale des vaisseaux néerlandais Heemskerck et Zeehaen d’Abel Tasman. Puis la Nouvelle Zélande retombe dans l’oubli jusqu’en 1769, lors de l’importante campagne d’exploration du capitaine James Cook à bord de l’Endeavour. Missionné par la couronne britannique pour une éventuelle colonisation, il fait  cartographier les côtes et en décrit minutieusement les terres. Plus tard, Cook y fera relâche à plusieurs reprises, lors de l’exploration de l’Australie cette fois. Nova Zeelandia ou « nouvelle terre des mers » trouve ainsi ses origines chez les cartographes néerlandais, nom choisi en l’honneur de la province néerlandaise de Zélande.

La Nouvelle-Zélande prend son indépendance en 1907, devenant un dominion puis accède à la pleine souveraineté en 1947. Elle est aujourd’hui une démocratie parlementaire indépendante dirigée depuis 2017 par la Première ministre Jacinda Ardern. Les presque 5 millions de « Kiwi » sont principalement d’origine européenne, les Māoris forment la plus grande minorité, suivie des Polynésiens du reste du Pacifique et des Asiatiques. Les langues officielles sont bien sûr l’Anglais, le Māori et aussi la langue des signes. Wellington, la capitale, est située au Sud de l’île du Nord, mais c’est Auckland, au Nord, qui est la plus peuplée et le réel coeur économique du pays.

… Et un peu de culture !

Il faut attendre la fin du 20ème siècle pour que les arts, danses et chants traditionnels māori connaissent un nouvel essor, libérés des interdictions de l’époque des missionnaires. La gravure sur bois, le tissage et le tatouage sans oublier le kapa haka, mis à l’honneur avec l’équipe de rugby des All Blacks, nourrissent une culture dont la richesse et la symbolique a su traverser les siècles.

Le sport joue un rôle majeur dans la culture néo-zélandaise, particulièrement le rugby à XV mais pas seulement. La Nouvelle-Zélande est une des nations leader dans le domaine de la voile. L’équipe Emirates Team New Zealand gagne la Coupe de l’America en 1995, 2000 et 2017.

En Décembre 2020, Février et Mars 2021, Auckland, surnommée la Cité des Voiles, accueillera cette course mythique et sa fameuse Coupe, trophée sportif le plus vieux du monde.